Legal personality of the Union

The question of the Union's legal personality has arisen primarily in connection with its capacity to conclude treaties or accede to international organisations. In fact the Union, which comprises three separate Communities, each with legal personality (European Community, ECSC and Euratom), and two areas of intergovernmental cooperation (common foreign and security policy and police and judicial cooperation), does not have explicit legal personality. However, Article 24 of the Treaty on European Union provides for the possibility of agreements between the European Union and third countries, which may be regarded as implicit conferral of international legal status.


Community method and intergovernmental method
Pillars of the European Union
Single institutional framework